top of page

Where Does the West Begin?

Where the West begins depends on where you are, in time and place. People frequently say, “Your first book in the Westward Sagas Series® Spring House takes place in Greensboro, North Carolina.” That’s back east, a Texan would say, and they would be correct. During colonial times, the Carolinas, where the story begins in 1762, was considered the west. The story of Adam’s Daughters starts during the time of

the State of Franklin now Tennessee. The Children of the Revolution takes place in Tennessee and North Carolina. Comanche Trace is the story of the early days of the Republic of Texas. The latest book in the series, Sheriff of Starr County, is the story of Texas Ranger Will Smith traveling to the borderlands of the Nueces Strip to become the first Sheriff of Starr County. Wherever the sun sets, is the west to me.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Louis Franke - 1818-1873

German born Louis Franke arrived in Texas in 1845. He came with a master’s degree in law from the University of Jena. Franke volunteered to be a Texas Ranger in the Mexican War. When Franke heard abou


bottom of page